A Touch of Fall in the Air

Arrived back in St. Louis Wednesday around noon. Tailwind from southern Missouri saved a few gallons of gas and saved me a fee minutes on the road. Fall is definitely in the air in-spite of the unusually warm weather of late. Leaves are mellowing and the changing angle of the afternoon light is noticeable. Last night’s winds cleared the skies and cooled the air to chilly. Very nice.

I’m only in STL for a few days for errands and some paring down of the belongings in the storage pods. Keeping my books, a few pieces of art, and my cookware are the priority. The rest can go in the closest dumpster. Am hoping to be settled into a new cave by November and want to decorate from square one.

Still job hunting but have some nibbles that I hope (at least one) will pan out. I’ve made a number of good contacts at St. Luke’s and MD Anderson in Houston. Cardiology and oncology are now my preferred areas of interest. HIV/AIDS is a field now more appropriate for folks quite unlike me demographically. I had the pleasure of spending the past weekend before hitting the road at the Candlelighters Camp for Kids with Cancer. I’ll have some photos to post and a separate entry on the experience. Very different from my past experiences with HIV/AIDS camp in terms of both facility and approach. High end and very professional. Texas-sized as well.

Got to run. Much more later.

New photo link: http://picasaweb.google.com/jtholste/Fall2007SelectedPhotos

PS: National Public Radio is “pledge-driving” this week. Hope you’ve made your investment wherever you are to this priceless resource.

Leave a Reply

